The Growth Zone

life-begins-at-the-end-of-your-comfort-zone

I have been thinking a lot lately about the growth zone and how each individual can progress, improve, and be better in a variety of different aspects of their life once they reach that growth zone.

I think most every human being has goals, dreams, hopes, and wishes, of who they want to be, where they want to be, and what they want to achieve. I know I definitely do. I think about future plans that I have, career goals, and what life is even going to be like after I get out of college (which seems like it will never end most days).  But as I have been thinking about all my goals and dreams a quote keeps coming back into my mind that I think is incredibly important to all those who want to achieve their goals and become better people, progressing in a positive way. The quote says,

“There is no growth in the comfort zone, and no comfort in the growth zone.” 

It’s called the growth zone for a reason.  It’s the best place to grow in ALL aspects of life.  I’ve learned that you can’t ever grow.  You can’t ever learn. You can’t ever progress, change, and help other people do the same if you don’t step out of that comfortable little place and be determined to change.  It’s hard, its UNcomfortable, but the times that I have done it in my life I have never ever regretting it.

Some tips I’ve received to help me get out of the comfort zone.

ladder

Do everyday things differently:

While living in Washington D.C. this last fall (which in and of itself was VERY much out of my comfort zone), my roommate and I decided to really try and push ourselves to always be doing the little things differently.  I still remember when we would do something as simple as take a different walking route home from work just because it got us out of our daily routine.  This changed my mindset of “this is just the way things are” and allowed me to view the world literally in different ways. I saw the beauty of a city and met even more beautiful people as we changed things up. é

I attribute these little actions to a change in my attitude about larger changes that are now currently happening it my life.  Changing the little things up and doing them differently has now made it easier to face and EMBRACE the unknown changes that lie in my future.

Take your time making decisions and then stick with it:

I have definitely learned this valuable lesson from my fiancé.  He is thoughtful while decision making. Making wise decisions are important to him because once he commits to something he is determined to see it through. I asked him once about this and he said, “The only way I’m going to become a better person, is to challenge myself and show other people that I’m determined to make sacrifices to push myself and improve.”

I’ve realized not many people are like my fiancé.  I’ve definitely fallen into a trap of being flaky on someone just because I don’t want to or it takes too much effort. Since meeting him though I’ve really tried to be committed and push myself to help others and step out of that comfort zone I’m usually in.

Do it in small steps:

I 100% believe that it take a lot of courage sometimes to break out of your comfort zone.  Don’t be afraid to start slow.  Identify our fears, and then face them step by step.  You get the same results whether you go in with both feet as you do if you start out slow and steady.

Leave a Reply

